Braaaiinssss….

I don’t recall having ever read a book about zombies before I picked up Mira Grant’s Feed, but I may have to reconsider that unintentional aversion. It’s not like I never had an interest in zombies; quite the opposite, actually — I’d like to know as much as I can about the threat we’ll be facing in 2012 when the zombie apocalypse hits. But I just never found a book about zombies that caught my eye.

Then I saw the blood-spattered, cement-gray cover of Feed, featuring the title in a mock blood-drip font in front of a bright red RSS feed logo. I found it quite gripping, to say the least, and picked it up in the same Barnes & Noble trip that also provided me with Eric Garcia’s fantastic Repo Men (formerly titled The Repossession Mambo, before the capitalists in Hollywood made a movie out of it and changed the title). But that’s a book for another post.

Grant not only crafts a compelling story, but does it in quite an interesting way. She creates a plausible future, where all information is digital and the primary source of news is blogs. The various snippets from blog entries by the characters lends this idea even more credibility (and if you’re reading this, you probably didn’t really need the extra boost). Suffice to say, she not only shows us a possible future, but she makes it feel real. It’s also a big plus that her characters are very easy to relate to, and you become attached very easily, especially to the narrator.

But Grant doesn’t skimp on suspense… or shock. Be prepared for a heart-wrenching twist. I’ve read quite a few horror novels and written some of my own stories, and I never expected this one. It made the book even more worthwhile.

There’s not much else I can say on  this one without giving away the plot, and with all the twists in there, it’s not something I want to spoil. If you can spare $7.99 plus tax, do it. At the very least, you’ll be prepared when undead hordes come looking for some gray matter to chow down on.

Leave a Reply

