Oh My…

I have to agree with typoattack’s month-old or so post, scheduling makes regular posting very difficult. That said, since I have a few minutes, I may as well put up a short post.

So, I normally do book reviews and things like that, but seeing as I don’t really have a lot of time right this minute to write a review, I think I’m just going to have to make this a list of things I’ve read/seen/heard etc. lately that everyone should go check out now. Feel free to comment with your own recent favorites, if anyone out there is reading.

Neighborhoods by blink-182: typoattack can confirm that this is one of the best albums to come out recently, and I have to thank him for telling me about it, or else I would probably have never listened to it.

Evanescence by Evanescence: After about 5 years or so, they’re finally back! Ok, so the album is pretty standard Evanescence stuff, but if you’re a fan like I am you’ll enjoy the hell out of it.

The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson: I read The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo over the summer, though I don’t think I ever got around to reviewing it, and let me tell you, I cannot wait to finally get my hands on the third and final book in the series. Larsson died too young; he was an incredibly talented author. I have absolutely no knowledge of Sweden whatsoever, but despite not knowing where the locales in the books were, or how to pronounce them or the names of characters, it really didn’t matter. The books are incredible, on par with the Hannibal Lecter books. And if you know me, you know I love me some Hannibal.

House: I honestly had never watched the show before, but I recently got into the new season. The last episode in particular was quite good. Ok, so every episode follows the same formula — someone gets suddenly sick, and they spend an hour trying to figure out what’s wrong with them, each diagnosis being proven wrong with more bizarre symptoms, until finally they find some little-known disease or really unexpected diagnosis, and save the patient’s life. But there are also a ton of side-plots which are fun to watch unfold throughout the episodes. So overall, despite the formulaic layout, it’s something to look forward to each week.

At any rate, that’s about all I have time for at the moment (also I’m trying to remember what I’ve read recently and failing — maybe because most of it was schoolwork?). Comment with your recent and/or newly discovered favorites and I’ll be sure to check back and see if I know any of it. =D

Leave a Reply

