Clippings From a Psychological Thriller

My high school used to sell books outside the library for $0.25-$1, and I have two stacks of them that come up at least to my knees. I was recently looking for something to read and started looking through those books. Much to my surprise, I found a few exceedingly rare printings of books, such as one from an unproofed sample run, a special signed hardcover from a limited run (500 copies) with a slipcase, and a special signed hardcover from a run of 1000. The last one is the one that I chose to read, and it was well worth it.

The book in question is Scissors, by Ray Garton. It’s a horror/psychological thriller about a man whose childhood doctor comes back to haunt him and his son. The plot may sound a bit derivative but it’s actually a very fresh and original take on an old theme. More important is the writing, which is fantastic. Though written in a third-person perspective, it feels very close and intense, almost more so than much of the first-person fiction I’ve read. It’s fantastically engrossing, much more so than the one I’m currently reading (and will review… eventually… if I ever finish it…), and though there are a few plot points that felt weak or even just tacked on, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

My biggest issue, I suppose, is that in the end, things don’t totally feel resolved. We’re left with a sort of cliffhanger, which is fine, even if it was a bit predictable. But the biggest parts of the plot are never really explained. At all. We’re left to sort of make our own inferences, and there’s not a lot of detail to make them from. I would have liked a more concrete explanation. The issue of reality was solved, but the question of how the things that happened are possible was not solved, and while I enjoyed the book, that simple fact left me feeling unfulfilled and somewhat dissatisfied.

I suppose in the long run, if you like horror and/or psychological thrillers, Scissors is worth a look. I suppose that I should give Garton another chance with another book. His writing is masterful and quite a joy to read. Hopefully his other books have more satisfying conclusions.

As always, please like us on Facebook, where you can not only show your friends how much you love your favorite blogging trio, but you can also post on the 13/31 timeline with praise, suggestions, requests, comments, proclamations of love, and pictures of kittens.

facebook.com/1331blog

One thought on “Clippings From a Psychological Thriller

Leave a Reply

