Friday Flashback: Brent Weeks

Hey-o, time for another Friday Flashback! Ok, I know, it’s Saturday, but it didn’t occur to me that seeing Wreck-It Ralph on top of my Friday plans would leave me little to no time for blogging. But that’s a post for another time (ie., check back early next week for a review).

As I mentioned a few days ago, this week’s post is about an author I spoke about way back in the early days of the blog. As in, I think emptynight was still consistently posting. That’s how long ago this was.

Anyway, if you don’t know already, Brent Weeks is one of my absolute favorite authors. And that’s saying something, since he writes fantasy and not horror. But I love his books an incredible amount, and I think it’s a real shame that I don’t know a single person who has read them. But enough about that. You’re here for a review, not my mindless babblings.

You might be asking yourself, “Why revisit a topic that’s already been covered?” Well, there’s a couple of reasons. One, of course, is the aforementioned RPG project. But the other is a lot more straightforward. Weeks put out a new novel this year, the second in the Lightbringer series (which, in case you’re wondering, I’ve read is going to be four books). It had been so long since I read the first one, however, that I didn’t remember what was going on when I last visited the Seven Satrapies. And The Blinding Knife was decidedly more intense than its predecessor, so I’m glad I re-read the first one. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have been able to follow it very well.

At any rate, after I spent a couple of weeks (no pun intended) charging through the two Lightbringer novels, I decided to go back and revisit the Night Angel trilogy. So I re-read the first book (so far, of course). And I have to say, it holds up very well. I won’t say that I didn’t remember some parts, but there were definitely parts that felt new to me. I was visiting characters that were familiar to me, but whom I hadn’t seen in so long that it felt like I was meeting them all over again. I think there were also some things that I didn’t pick up on at all in my first reading, and those details really changed the story and the way I saw it. All for the best, of course, or I wouldn’t have even considered putting myself through the process of making an RPG out of it.

So in the end, I guess what I have to say, really, is that I most definitely still recommend Brent Weeks’ books, maybe even more so now than I ever have. Re-reading his books rekindled my love for them, and though I’ll always be a horror fan first and foremost, Weeks will always be the best fantasy writer I’ve ever encountered, and one of the best writers in general. I really can’t help but rave about him, so if you really want to understand, just go read the books. All of them. It’s worth it, I swear.

One thought on “Friday Flashback: Brent Weeks

Leave a Reply

