Alone Again, Naturally

Time for another review from the Humble Indie Bundle 8!

Thomas Was Alone is a simple, very minimalist platformer/puzzler in which you control a moving and jumping quadrilateral. Now, I’m not talking like HD graphics with a 3D over-the-shoulder point-of-view and a bunch of shapes with arms and legs. I’m talking graphics which clearly use modern capabilities but are also essentially Atari graphics with more pixels. And the shapes don’t have limbs or faces or anything. Though they do have names.

20130523-2204581
This is actual in-game footage, from the first level. I wasn’t joking when I said it was minimalist. Thomas is the red rectangle.

Yes, the shapes have names, and there’s a story, too. Surprised? I was, I must admit. I wasn’t expecting anything more than a moving rectangle and some neat music, but what I got was an entire story complete with characters who grow and change over time. Plus the levels are fun with a nicely paced learning curve and a reasonable amount of challenging thrown in. I’m honestly not terribly far in (and I played for over an hour!), but I haven’t had any issues with controls or anything like that. The gameplay is smooth and finely tuned.

There’s really not much else to say about this game. It’s simple. It’s fun. It’s funny. It’s polished, challenging, and just overall REALLY good. Between this and Little Inferno, I honestly think that the Humble Bundle could have survived as just 2 games rather than 11 (but I’m DEFINITELY not complaining).

And if you needed another reason to try out the game, not only is there a story, but it’s narrated by a guy with a British accent, which makes it not only a good and funny story, but also very relaxing and fun to listen to.

Don’t forget to like us on Facebook!! facebook.com/1331blog

Leave a Reply

