Jorfimus Prime’s photo of the week

I’m hijacking typoattack’s usual subject again, and I’ll get to why in a moment, but I’ve got to cover something else first. Sort of a bad news/good news thing, although it’s not really bad news so much as slightly disappointing news, I suppose. I’m going on a sort of semi-hiatus. For a while now I’ve been trying to post every week, and while I still plan on posting as often as I can, I’m focusing on some other projects. One of those is a massive and slow-moving project for this very blog; a few of you already know exactly what I’m talking about here, but for the rest of you, it’s staying under wraps until I launch it. Even more than that though I’ve started finally focusing again on my fiction. I’ve talked before about Midnight Murder Party, the currently suspended project by a close friend of ours (closer to me, I think, than the rest of the writers here, if I’m being really honest). We’ve been sharing our writing with one another for years, and I’ve done some pretty detailed editing work with him over the past couple of months on some of his stories, and it’s really revitalized my interest in the craft and in writing my own fiction. Often, the diligence and dedication of those around us can be an inspiration.

So that’s the important announcement. I’m not going anywhere, but I am going to be a bit less active here. Ideally some of that slack will be taken up by the other writers here, but I’m pretty sure the statistics of how many posts we all have and how often and recently we’ve all posted would tell a different story…

Anyway, on to the fun stuff and why I’m hijacking the photo of the week topic! I’ve got a new toy! And not of the kind I posted photos of many years ago…

20160630_000550
Such pretty. Much camera. Very photo. Wow.

That’s a Nikon D3300 if any of you readers are interested in the specifics. Anyway I’ve been playing around with it, learning the ropes and what not, and while I’ve still got a lot to learn and work on, typoattack gave me a quick run-down of the major features I need to be aware of and use. So without further ado I give you my submission for photo of the week, having owned the camera for all of two days! BEHOLD THE GREAT AND POWERFUL CUPCAKE!

DSC_0037

 

Don’t forget that we’re on Facebook! Head over there and hit that “Like” button to get our posts right in your newsfeed! We also sometimes post things there that you can’t find anywhere else! You don’t want to miss it! facebook.com/1331blog

Leave a Reply

