Song of the Week: “Overkill” (Colin Hay)

Today I’d like to introduce our new series, the Song of the Week. Each week (ideally) one of us will post a song and a short(ish?) write-up about it and why we chose it. I’ll be curating a Spotify playlist, and each week, the new Song of the Week will be added to the playlist. I’ll post a link to it at the bottom of the page every week, for your convenience, but you’re encouraged to subscribe, as well. Then you can play it whenever and wherever you want. As it grows, you’ll find it becomes more and more diverse and interesting.

So without further ado, I give you the first 13/31 Song of the Week:

Though some readers may know “Overkill” was originally Men at Work song and may recognize this as frontman Colin Hay’s acoustic version, released on his solo album, Man @ Work, some of us were introduced to it in a different way — in an episode of Scrubs. I don’t remember the context, exactly, just that all of the characters were fighting with one another for various reasons. I’ll let the scenes featuring the song speak for themselves:

I feel like it’s pretty apparent why I like this song. It’s acoustic, for one; it’s emotionally powerful; and it resonates with people, especially those who, like me, have struggled with anxiety and related mental illnesses. It’s one of those songs that just sticks with you.

I chose “Overkill” this week for a few reasons. First off, I’ve been listening to it way more than is strictly healthy. I stumbled across this video of the man himself teaching the guitar part, and I’ve been practicing and developing my style ever since. Secondly, I think it deserves to be put in the spotlight. While I first heard it on Scrubs, it’s a song that deserves more than just television notoriety. And finally, though I’m decidedly not “settling” for “Overkill, I’d had another song in mind initially, but I didn’t want to spoil the upcoming Tuesday Tunes. Which will hopefully be up next week, but I make no promises.

Don’t forget to follow us on Facebook! Check out our “Connect With Us” link at the top of this page to find out all the ways you can, you guessed it, connect with us!

2 thoughts on “Song of the Week: “Overkill” (Colin Hay)

Leave a Reply

