Song of the Week: “Take Me Down” (The Pretty Reckless)

A few weeks ago, I chose a new Green Day track as the Song of the Week in anticipation of the new album. So this week I thought I’d do the same for The Pretty Reckless.

“Take Me Down” was the first single released for Who You Selling For, and quite frankly I think it’s the best. “Prisoner” isn’t bad, but all I can hear when I listen to it is DOROTHY, and “Oh My God” is just… not really my cup of tea, I guess. So I’m a little worried, but I’m hopeful that the rest of the album is more in line with how much I like “Take Me Down.”

There are a few things worth mentioning about this track. First, it bears a bit more than a passing similarity to the Rolling Stones’ 1968 classic, “Sympathy for the Devil.” This rubbed some fans the wrong way, but I kind of like it, and feel it’s appropriate, to boot. Second: the snare drum. Now, I know I’m a drummer and that that makes me more likely to notice things that non-drummers might miss. But this one is pretty obvious. It’s not a bad snare sound, by any means. But it’s noticeably different than in their other work, including the other two songs released from this album. So it stands out pretty clearly. I have come to like it in this song, but I was glad to see that it wasn’t in the other two tracks; it’s just too out of character when compared to the rest of their drum parts.

If it makes me seem any less like a band geek, other people noticed it, too.

Personally, I really like this track, despite the clichéd lyrical content, and what some perceive as musical flaws. But I’ll let you readers out there pass your own judgments.

Don’t forget to find us on Facebook, and visit our “Connect With Us” page up above to see all the ways you can interact with us!

Leave a Reply

