Song of the Week: “The Black Widow” (Alice Cooper)

I wanted to do something for Halloween, but I didn’t want it to be something really mainstream and overdone. So rather than something like “The Monster Mash” or “Ghostbusters,” I went with a lesser known album track from Alice Cooper’s classic Welcome to My Nightmare. Unfortunately, the original version of the video seems to have been scrubbed from the Internet, so I had to make do with this fan edit.

It wouldn’t be Halloween without Vincent Price, but I didn’t want to use his most famous musical appearance. Anyway, “The Black Widow” is far spookier and more fitting, in my opinion. The throbbing drums and staccato blasts of guitar keep the tension high, and the chorus is downright chilling. If the call-and-response pattern there doesn’t haunt you at least a little bit, then I’m not sure what you’re up to, but it’s obviously desensitized you significantly.

The fact that it almost feels like a march is appropriate since the titular spider is presented as some sort of horrible king. Which is interesting since the female is more powerful, as Vincent Price so eloquently tells us. But hey, who am I to question the king of horror rock?

As far as I’m concerned, Alice Cooper’s music is an essential part of the Halloween season, so there really wasn’t any question as to how to choose this weeks song. It was inevitable that I would pledge allegiance to the Black Widow.

Follow us on social media! Visit our “Connect With Us” page up top, and visit our Facebook page here. Don’t forget to hit the “like” button!

Leave a Reply

