Song of the Week: “Start All Over (Acoustic)” (Nalani & Sarina)

If you didn’t see this coming, you either haven’t been paying attention, or you just don’t know me very well. Sooner or later Nalani & Sarina were bound to show up in this series.

Last week’s song was in reaction to the results of the election, so this week I thought I’d go with something that sort of describes how we’ve all been feeling, both the past two weeks and most of the past year. We’ve lost a lot of beloved pop culture figures, we’ve dealt with a harrowing election that could have potentially massive and dangerous consequences on a lot of people; some of us have lost family members and friends, and while there are always points of light in even the darkest times, I think I can safely say that there have been many times this year where we’ve all wanted the chance to just go back to the start of the year and do things over.

I’ve already reviewed the regular studio version of “Start All Over,” but I haven’t talked about this acoustic version yet. Actually, when I was reviewing the albums way back at the start of our Tuesday Tunes series, I didn’t even know this version existed. It was featured on the 2012 edition of the Abrazos compilation series, which raises money for cancer research. While I do really like the Lessons Learned album version, I would definitely say this one is even better. For whatever reason, it’s an incredibly powerful song when performed with a slower, stripped down piano arrangement. I’m not at all ashamed to say I teared up a bit the first time I heard it, and even now I sometimes still do.

I really am a sucker for acoustic versions of songs, as you might have noticed, but it’s not my fault that stripping down a song almost always makes me feel like it has more power and emotion.

Check us out on Facebook! Like our page to keep up with us and get new content delivered straight to your newsfeed, and don’t forget to check out our “Connect With Us” page up top to see all the great ways you can get in touch!

Leave a Reply

