The Twelve Songs of Christmas: “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree” (Brenda Lee)

For today’s entry in the Twelve Songs of Christmas, let’s take a look at this classic Christmas tune from 1958.

There’s not much to say for this one. I think that most people who have heard any English language Christmas songs will have heard this one. It’s a fun song with a catchy beat and a vocal sound that I don’t think I’ve heard too often.

The real reason that I chose this song for our list is that I remember it from one of the Christmas movies that I used to watch all the time around this time of year—Home Alone. This adds a nostalgic element to the song for me, but I think I’d like it all the same without that.

Ultimately, I think this is just a fun song and, while I don’t think it’s unknown, I don’t think it suffers from overplay like some Christmas songs do so I think it’s worth a share.

Give yourself the gift that keeps on giving and hit the “Like” button on our Facebook page!

 

Leave a Reply

