Song of the Week: “Hooked on a Feeling” (Blue Swede)

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 is coming out this Friday, so I thought it would be appropriate to present the best song from the first movie.

“Hooked on a Feeling” was originally a B. J. Thomas song, but I think it’ safe to say Blue Swede did it better (their version hit #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1974; Thomas’ peaked at #5 in 1969). For one thing — “ooga-chaka.” Need I say any more?

As a fan of both Marvel comics and Marvel movies, I was already excited for the film, though I wasn’t particularly familiar with the characters. But when the trailer dropped with this song as the soundtrack? I knew it was going to be great. I grew up on classic pop and rock, and this was always one of my favorite songs. So aside from how perfectly it was used in the trailer, it also brought up a lot of nostalgia for me. Which isn’t a bad thing, at all.

When it comes down to it, this is just an incredibly fun song, and was the perfect indicator of the tone of the film. The whole thing is full of energy, and it’s all just a little bit silly, which is always good. There’s no reason for a comic book movie, of all things, to take itself too seriously.

I’m hooked on the feeling that Vol. 2 is going to be great. Are you?

Like our Facebook page if you want to become a Guardian of the Internet!

One thought on “Song of the Week: “Hooked on a Feeling” (Blue Swede)

Leave a Reply

