Song of the Week: “Here Comes the Sun” (The Beatles)

Tomorrow is the first day of spring, though it certainly doesn’t seem like it, especially for those of us who just a few days ago got slammed with some heavy snow (I’m still aching from clearing my driveway out). Let’s hope this week’s song turns into a prophecy and saves us from a winter that has been all too long.

As per usual when I post something by The Beatles, I’ve had to use an alternate version here, but the original will be on the Spotify playlist. This version is a live performance by Harrison — I think it’s from the Concert for Bangladesh recording.

“Here Comes the Sun” is and always has been one of my favorite Beatles songs, and usually I cite it as my all-time favorite. Something about the lyrics, the guitar, the melody… it all just works. Harrison wrote it at Eric Clapton’s house — fans of either or both artist will know all about their friendship and… ahem… unique connection, as it were. According to Harrison, “‘Here Comes the Sun’ was written at the time when Apple was getting like school, where we had to go and be businessmen: ‘Sign this’ and ‘sign that.’ Anyway, it seems as if winter in England goes on forever, by the time spring comes you really deserve it. So one day I decided I was going to sag off Apple and I went over to Eric Clapton’s house. The relief of not having to go see all those dopey accountants was wonderful, and I walked around the garden with one of Eric’s acoustic guitars and wrote ‘Here Comes the Sun.'”

Taking that into account, the song becomes both about the onset of good weather and about having the end of a bad time, or at least a temporary respite, in sight. This is, of course, very much in line with Harrison’s philosophies and the themes he explored in his music. All of us want that positive feeling in our lives. We all want things to be smooth sailing and full of light and love, as if it were the beginning of spring every day.

So here’s to the new season. Let’s hope the sun comes back soon; it really has been a long, cold, lonely winter, and I’m about ready to see some sunshine.

As always, be sure to like our Facebook page to get our content straight in your newsfeed!

 

Leave a comment