The Post That Shall Not Be Named

We’re happy to welcome Anushka Mehrotra back for another guest post, in honor of the 20th anniversary of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

Last year was a very Harry Potter year for me. Not only because I got a job that very heavily relates to Harry Potter and that allowed me to watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them weeks before its release in theatres, but it was also the general resurgence of hype in the fandom – from Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, to the release of the first movie in the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them franchise. Not to mention, it was the start of my re-read of the seven books – the first time I’m doing so since I finished the series in 2007. I also paid my first visit to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando, FL. So yeah, the boy wizard hasn’t left my life since I discovered him as a kid, but he certainly didn’t let me forget that in 2016.

Apart from re-reading the books, rewatching the movies and wasting time on Pottermore, here are some of my favourite Harry Potter related activities to do while I wait for the next Fantastic Beasts movie:

Watch Starkid’s Potter Musicals: A Very Potter Musical, A Very Potter Sequel, and A Very Potter Senior Year

If you haven’t seen theatre company Starkid’s trilogy of Harry Potter themed musicals, you are seriously missing out. With Glee’s Darren Criss (my future husband, you heard it here first) in the lead role and an entire cast of ridiculously talented people, the musicals are a hilarious take on the books and the movies. Each musical is an amalgamation of all seven of the books so that the story remains new even as the characters and the scenarios feel familiar. Take a listen to their opening number “Goin’ Back to Hogwarts” and see if that convinces you. It certainly turned me into an unbearable Starkid fan who forces people to watch it and gets angry when no one understands why my phone case has a drawing of Hermione and Draco getting married on Mars while a talking lion officiates. Spoilers…?

All three musicals can be found on Starkid’s Youtube Channel.

(editor’s note: this is how Anushka and I started hanging out; thanks, Starkid! — Jorfimus Prime)

Potter Puppet Pals

These need no introduction. The hilarious youtube videos about Harry and the rest of the characters at Hogwarts were popular, allegedly, even among the cast of the movies. While everyone seems to be able to perform ‘Mysterious Ticking Noise’ sketch with their groups of friends or their families (my cousins and I were these people, and I would like to take this moment to apologise to every cab driver who has had to drive us around), there are some equally hilarious videos to check out including “Wizard Swears” (which is my personal favourite) and “Snape’s Diary.”

You can check out their website http://www.potterpuppetpals.com/ and watch the videos on their Youtube channel.

Incorrect Marauders Quotes Tumblr

If you know me then you probably know, based on my ‘Mischief Managed’ t-shirt and my Marauders Map notebook, or even my Sirius Black ‘Wanted’ Poster on my wall that I am obsessed with the Marauders. Do not talk to me about them unless you want my detailed headcanons about what they were like as students, and how Lily and Sirius obviously probably had a crush on Remus at some point during their 7 years at Hogwarts ok?

I am also a fan of those incorrect tumblr quotes blogs, which take quotes from other shows and puts them in context of another show. And honestly, I think it all began with this blog here: http://incorrectmarauderquotes.tumblr.com/.

[Nerd Note: Their navigation page is also super well done, so you can search by fandom, ships (the James/Lily posts are great), characters, and even rivalries. ]

Floccinaucinihilipilification’s Dumbledore comics

You’ve probably seen these Dumbledore comic s around, like… everywhere. If you haven’t, here’s my endorsement – they’re amazing and ridiculous and a great way to spend hours giggling alone in your room (am I speaking from experience? Who knows). If you’ve seen them already… well, look at them again. Because they’re worth it*: http://floccinaucinihilipilificationa.tumblr.com/tagged/harry-potter

*if you’ve seen the Potter Musicals/interviews of Emma Watson as a small child, you would understand why this was funny.


We’d like to thank Anushka again for her donating her time and talent to help make our blog a better place. Happy Harry Potter Anniversary, everyone! (That’s a thing people are saying today, right?)

 

Keep the magic going by liking our Facebook page! If waving your wand doesn’t work, just click the like button. Actually, just do that one, it’s easier and you don’t risk turning your computer or phone into a salamander.

Leave a comment